Project Description

What I Like About Me
Discussion Guide
Excerpt
Author Q&A

Coming Spring 2020

What I Like About Me

by Jenna Guillaume

You know all those movies where teenagers have, like, THE TIME OF THEIR LIVES? This vacation is probably not going to be that.

The last thing sixteen-year-old Maisie Martin thought she’d be doing over vacation is entering a beauty pageant. Not when she’s spent most of her life hiding her body from everyone. Not when her Dad is AWOL and her gorgeous older sister has returned to rock Maisie’s already shaky confidence. And especially not when her best friend starts flirting with the boy she’s always loved. But Maisie’s got something to prove.

As she writes down all the ways this vacation is going from bad to worse in her school-assignment journal, what starts as a homework torture-device might just end up being an account of how Maisie didn’t let anything, or anyone, hold her back.

Jenna Guillame’s American debut features a plus-size protagonist with a compelling, funny, and authentic narrative voice. This relatable and charming novel about friendship, confidence, and self-love will draw readers in as Maisie’s realistic emotional journey unveils the importance of embracing one’s body and celebrating one’s self.

To pre-order this book, please contact sales at 1-800-241-0113 (404-876-8761) between 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.

Format: Hardcover
Price: $17.99
ISBN: 978-1-68263-160-7
Publication Date: 4/1/2020
Page Count: 304
Size: 5-1/4″ x 8″
Age Range: 12 – 16
Language: English

F&P: Z+, Gr HS/Adult, Genre RF
Lexile: 660L
Themes: Body Positivity, Friendship, Self-Esteem, Subversive Protagonist
BISAC 1: YAF058220  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
BISAC 2: YAF058090  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Eating Disorders & Body Image
BISAC 3: YAF020000 YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fashion & Beauty

Reviews

“This is the book I would hand to teen me.” —Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

“Debut author Guillaume’s novel features funny dialogue and fresh takes on body image and personal relationships as well as a plucky heroine who slowly but surely comes into her own…. Perfect for fans of Dumplin’, a hilariously sweet yet complex romance.” —Kirkus Reviews

“This book draws obvious parallels to Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’, but Maisie and her diverse cast of friends are fresh and distinctive, as is the Australian setting…. A fun, upbeat, and tender coming-of-age story written in an engaging and lively diary format.”—School Library Journal

“Guillaume’s delightful debut deals with teenagers and their self-esteem, as Maisie’s story is relayed through her journal entries. This intimate lens will invest readers in Maisie’s journey to self-acceptance and confidence. A fun story, abounding in humor, romance, and inspiration and filled with multifaceted characters that readers will enjoy.” —Booklist

Meet the Author

Jenna Guillaume

Jenna Guillaume was the editor-at-large for BuzzFeed Australia, where she wrote about very important things like pop culture, identity, feminism, social media, and Chris Hemsworth’s biceps. Previously, she spent more than half a decade in the features department of Girlfriend magazine, editing the sealed section (yes, all those questions are real), and writing about everything from bullying and body image to bad kisses and boy bands. She was also a contributor to Girlfriend Life Hacks, an essential guide to navigating a girl’s completely-awkward-but-totally-awesome teen years. You can visit her website here.