Project Description

BUY NOW
Excerpt
Discussion Guide

Throwing Heat

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series

by Fred Bowen

Get back in the baseball action with this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Jack has a sizzling fastball, but does he have what it takes to pitch his team to victory?

Known for his crazy fastball pitches, Jack has never had a problem striking a batter out. Until now. This season, he’s playing in a new league where the distance to the catcher’s mitt is a lot greater, and he can’t get seem to get into the strike zone.

Then a baseball coach at a local college shows Jack some new pitches and tells him about Steve Dalkowski who never made it out of the minor leagues because he wouldn’t throw other pitches. At first Jack doesn’t listen to the coach’s advice, but with the season on the line, he realizes that Finn was right. Is it too late to change his game plan?

In this installment of his Sports Story series, author Fred Bowen shows readers how to battle the ache of disappointment and rise to new challenges. Readers can learn more about pitching phenoms Steve Dalkowski and Sandy Koufax and their Major League Baseball careers in the afterword.

Format: Hardcover
Price: $14.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-573-7
Publication Date: 2/1/2011
Page Count: 128
Size: 5-1/4″ x 7-1/2″
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English
Format: Paperback
Price: $6.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-540-9
Publication Date: 7/1/2010
Page Count: 128
Size: 5-1/4″ x 7-1/2″
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English
Format: eBook
ISBN: 978-1-56145-677-2
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English

Purchase this eBook through the following vendors:

OpenRoad
Booksource
Follett
Mackin

AR Level: 3.9
F&P: GRL R, Gr 4, Genre RF
Lexile: 600L
Themes: Baseball, Challenges, Confidence
BISAC 1: JUV032010 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Baseball & Softball
BISAC 2: JUV005000 JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men
BISAC 3: JUV039220 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Values & Virtues

Reviews

“Sports-minded readers should find the brisk pacing and simple vocabulary to their liking.” ―School Library Journal

“The prolific Bowen serves up a baseball tale that should appeal equally to middle-grade fans and less-able older readers.” ―Booklist

You May Also Like

Meet the Author

Fred Bowen is the author of Peachtree’s popular Fred Bowen Sports Story series. A lifelong sports fanatic, he has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post. Bowen lives in Maryland. You can visit his website here.