Project Description

TJs Secret Pitch PB
BUY NOW
Excerpt
Discussion Guide

T. J.’s Secret Pitch

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series

by Fred Bowen

Calling all baseball fans!

Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

More than anything, T. J. wants to be a pitcher. But he’s smaller than his teammates, and his pitches just don’t pack the power they need to strike out the batters. So when T. J. learns about one of baseball’s early heroes, Pittsburgh Pirate Rip Sewell, he decides to try Sewell’s secret weapon. Will his teammates give T. J. the chance to prove that he can be a pitcher? And will T.J.’s secret pitch help lead his team to victory?

Author Fred Bowen offers another exciting story filled with on-the-field action and important themes of confidence and problem solving. An afterword provides the real story of Rip Sewell and his baseball career.

Format: Paperback
Price: $6.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-504-1
Publication Date: 8/1/2009
Page Count: 104
Size: 5-1/4″ x 7-1/2″
Age Range: 8 – 12
Language: English
Format: eBook
ISBN: 978-1-56145-659-8
Age Range: 8 – 12
Language: English

Purchase this eBook through the following vendors:

OpenRoad
Booksource
Follett
Mackin

AR Level: 4.3
F&P: GRL O, Gr 3, Genre RF
Lexile: 670L
Themes: Baseball, Confidence, Problem Solving
BISAC 1: JUV032010 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Baseball & Softball
BISAC 2: JUV005000 JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men
BISAC 3: JUV039140 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

Reviews

“[Bowen’s] pacing is excellent and he has a knack for efficient evocation.” ―The Washington Post

“Bowen is a natural when it comes to writing sports stories and informing his readers about the past. These books are perfect for kids ages 8 to 12.” ―Newsday

You May Also Like

Meet the Author

Fred Bowen is the author of Peachtree’s popular Fred Bowen Sports Story series. A lifelong sports fanatic, he has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post. Bowen lives in Maryland. You can visit his website here.