Project Description

Stanleys Fire Engine
Buy Now
Excerpt
Fire Safety Tips
Series Activity Kit

Stanley’s Fire Engine

Visit the Stanley Fan Page

by William Bee

It’s another busy day for Stanley’s Fire Station!

“An adorable hamster, a fire engine, and fireworks: high preschooler appeal.” ―Kirkus Reviews

Stanley keeps his fire engine in tip-top condition. It needs to be ready for anything. It has a tall ladder, a big water tank, and a long hose. Uh-oh. The fire station has a phone call: Charlie’s barbecue is out of control. CLANG! CLANG! CLANG! Out of the way! Stanley’s on the job!

Stanley’s Fire Engine stars all of Stanley’s friends in a brightly colored celebration of everyone’s favorite rescue vehicle. Not only is there an adorable fire truck, there’s also a ladder, hose, and extinguisher. The story is playful and fun but filled with important examples of the way firefighters help their communities. A great book for early fire safety discussions, community helper lessons, and more!

Perfect for fans of Maisy, William Bee’s beloved Stanley series features adorable hardworking hamster Stanley and his community of rodent friends as they work different jobs and help each other along the way. The sturdy padded picture book format is ideal for readers at a transitional age between board books and picture books, and the books are trusted models of basic preschool concepts such as colors and shapes, kindness and teamwork, community helpers, jobs and careers, vehicles, and daily routines.

Format: Hardcover
Price: $14.99
ISBN: 978-1-68263-214-7
Publication Date: 8/1/2020
Page Count: 32
Size: 8-3/4″ x 8-3/4″
Age Range: 3 – 7
Language: English
F&P:  I, Gr 1, Genre F
Lexile: AD510L
Themes: Community, Fire Trucks, Friendship, Occupation
BISAC 1: JUV041030 JUVENILE FICTION / Transportation / Cars & Trucks
BISAC 2: JUV002180 JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Mice, Hamsters, Guinea Pigs, etc.
BISAC 3: JUV006000 JUVENILE FICTION / Business, Careers, Occupations

Reviews

“It’s no wonder that young children, who crave stability in their lives, relate so strongly to the Stanley the Hamster picture-book series. Beyond their interest in Stanley’s daily activities, kids enjoy the well-structured lines and cheerful colors of the art as well as the steady, reassuring tone of the narrative. An enjoyable read-aloud choice, especially leading up to holidays involving fireworks.” —Booklist 

“An adorable hamster, a fire engine, and fireworks: high preschooler appeal.” —Kirkus Reviews 

You May Also Like

Meet the Author/Illustrator

William Bee is an artist and commercial designer who has worked for renowned fashion houses, including Issay Miyake and Paul Smith. As well as writing children’s picture books and board books, he races a vintage sports car, is an international skier, and when at home tends his lawns and meadow. He lives in England. You can visit his website here.