Project Description

BUY NOW
Excerpt
Series Activity Kit

Stanley’s Diner

by William Bee

Visit the Stanley Fan Page

It’s another busy day at Stanley’s Diner!

“Stanley’s new story line of working in the kitchen will appeal to any preschooler who plays house or pretends to cook.” ―School Library Journal

Eggs and pancakes, coming right up! Stanley is cooking for all his hungry friends in his diner, while Hattie takes their orders. Then Stanley bakes and serves up a special cake—all for one very special “little” customer.

Starring everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster and his friends, Stanley’s Diner will appeal to toddlers curious about restaurants and food, kitchens and cooking. Brightly colored illustrations framed in bold black outline and a cheery diner setting showcase recognizable menu items, kitchen tools, and appliances. The story ends in jubilant celebration but also with the responsibility of clean up. Then Stanley returns home for his familiar, comforting nighttime routine: “Time for supper! Time for a bath! And time for bed!”

Perfect for fans of Maisy, William Bee’s beloved Stanley series features adorable hardworking hamster Stanley and his community of rodent friends as they work different jobs and help each other along the way. The sturdy padded picture book format is ideal for readers at a transitional age between board books and picture books, and the books are trusted models of basic preschool concepts such as colors and shapes, kindness and teamwork, community helpers, jobs and careers, vehicles, and daily routines.

Format: Hardcover
Price: $14.99
ISBN: 978-1-56145-802-8
Publication Date: 9/1/2015
Page Count: 32
Size: 8-3/4″ x 8-3/4″
Age Range: 3 – 7
Language: English
F&P: GRL I, Gr 1, Genre F
Lexile: AD290L
Themes: Community, How Things Work, Occupations
BISAC 1: JUV002180 JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Mice, Hamsters, Guinea Pigs, etc.
BISAC 2: JUV006000 JUVENILE FICTION / Business, Careers, Occupations
BISAC 3: JUV023000 JUVENILE FICTION / Lifestyles / City & Town Life

Reviews

“Stanley’s new story line of working in the kitchen will appeal to any preschooler who plays house or pretends to cook.” ―School Library Journal

“The low-key blotting, squarish format, and thickly outlined illustrations in flat colors favorably recall Lucy Cousins’s books about mouse Maisy, who may have met in Stanley her congenial match.” ―Horn Book Guide

“[The Stanley series has] steadily gained a following among young children, who respond to the capable protagonist, his dependable daily routine, and his varied career choices.” ―Booklist Online

You May Also Like

Meet the Author/Illustrator

William Bee is an artist and commercial designer who has worked for renowned fashion houses, including Issay Miyake and Paul Smith. As well as writing children’s picture books and board books, he races a vintage sports car, is an international skier, and when at home tends his lawns and meadow. He lives in England. You can visit his website here.