Project Description

Real Hoops PB
BUY NOW
Excerpt
Discussion Guide

Real Hoops

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series

by Fred Bowen

Teeming with basketball action, this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen is perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

 “Capped by a tribute to some of New York’s playground-hoops heroes, this simply written tale in the Fred Bowen Sports Story series is chock-full of suspenseful game action.” ―Booklist

Can street ball and technical play mix it up on the court and score wins for the team?

Ben and Logan are looking for a new point guard for their team, and they are sure they’ve found one in Antonio “Hud” Hudson, the new guy at their school. But there’s one problem:  Hud plays fast-paced pickup ball, and coach says that’s against the team rules!

So when Ben finds Hud playing pickup, he has to make a decision. As captain, can he help Hud balance his passion for the game with his dedication to the team?

Author Fred Bowen delivers another action-packed tale of skill, friendship, and teamwork as three boys work together to make the best of two worlds. In the afterword, readers can learn the real story of pickup ball and Holcombe Rucker Park, Harlem’s famous basketball court where many NBA greats—including Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Dr. J, Stephon Marbury, and Jamal Mashburn—got their start.

Format: Paperback
Price: $6.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-566-9
Publication Date: 2/1/2011
Page Count: 128
Size: 5-1/4″ x 7-1/2″
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English
Format: eBook
ISBN: 978-1-56145-781-6
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English

Purchase this eBook through the following vendors:

OpenRoad
Booksource
Follett
Mackin

AR Level: 4.0
F&P: GRL Q, Gr 4, Genre RF
Lexile: 630L
Themes: Basketball, Frienship, Teamwork
BISAC 1: JUV032020 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Basketball
BISAC 2: JUV039220 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Values & Virtues
BISAC 3: JUV005000 JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men

Reviews

“This easy-to-read book has a nice blend of game action, lessons in discipline, and even some actual history of Holcombe Rucker Park in New York City…Bowen knows sports and his audience, and he scores again with Real Hoops.” ―School Library Journal

“Capped by a tribute to some of New York’s playground-hoops heroes, this simply written tale in the Fred Bowen Sports Story series is chock-full of suspenseful game action.” ―Booklist

“Local author Fred Bowen never disappoints. His many action-packed novels speak to the hearts and minds of young sports lovers, and he demonstrates know-how and grace in writing about baseball, basketball, soccer and football.” ―Washington Parent

Read More

“Lots of action and play-by-play descriptions will engage young sports fans and hold their interest… sure bet to hook the most reluctant reader age 7-12 who just also happens to be a basketball fan.” ―Midwest Book Review

“Simple but effective writing, problems that add interest to the story–perfect for boys who want sports books and might not be the strongest readers.” ―Ms. Yingling Reads

Read Less

Awards

Young Adult Top Forty ―Pennsylvania School Librarians Association, 2012

Young Reader’s Choice Awards (Nominee, Grades 6-8) ―Pennsylvania School Librarians Association, 2013-2014

You May Also Like

Meet the Author

Fred Bowen is the author of Peachtree’s popular Fred Bowen Sports Story series. A lifelong sports fanatic, he has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post. Bowen lives in Maryland. You can visit his website here.