Project Description

Quarterback Season PB
BUY NOW
Excerpt
Discussion Guide

Quarterback Season

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series

by Fred Bowen

Football is back in this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

“Another absorbing sports tale from the prolific and dependable Bowen… The author expertly balances the subplots and football action.” ―Booklist

Matt Monroe is a shoo-in for starting quarterback for the Parkside Middle School football team this year. Or so he thinks.

Devro, a new seventh grader, looks impressive. He’s consistent and can run the plays almost as well as Matt. And he’s got speed. Could he ruin Matt’s chances of taking the spot?

Utilizing Matt’s journal, author Fred Bowen shows readers the importance of reflection and teamwork as one strives to be a better player. In the afterword, he shares the real story of Instant Replay: The Green Bay Diary of Jerry Kramer, a book by Green Bay Packers offensive lineman Jerry Kramer and sportswriter Dick Schaap covering the 1967 Green Bay Packers Super Bowl-winning season.

Format: Paperback
Price: $6.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-594-2
Publication Date: 8/1/2011
Page Count: 144
Size: 5-1/2″ x 7-1/2″
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English
Format: eBook
ISBN: 978-1-56145-780-9
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English

Purchase this eBook through the following vendors:

OpenRoad
Booksource
Follett
Mackin

AR Level: 4.5
GRL: R, Gr 4
Lexile: 690L
Themes: Diary, Football, Sportsmanship, Teamwork
BISAC 1: JUV032030 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Football
BISAC 2: JUV039220 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Values & Virtues
BISAC 3: JUV005000 JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men

Reviews

“Another absorbing sports tale from the prolific and dependable Bowen… The author expertly balances the subplots and football action.” ―Booklist

“Fred uses these teachable moments in sports history to fuel his fiction—fast-paced, reluctant reader-friendly tales.” ―International Reading Association

“Finally, a well-written sports story for boys! … Boys will get excited about sports, writing, and sports history in this well done story… This book would work well for a reluctant reader.” ―Integrity Books for Boys

“I want to process this immediately and give it to one of my readers who will ONLY read short sports books. I think it would be an excellent way for him to improve his own writing. I love how the writing changes and is modeled for students.” ―Ms Yingling Reads

Awards

Children’s Choices ―International Reading Association, Children’s Book Council, 2012

Kansas State Reading Circle Recommended Reading List (Intermediate) ―Kansas National Education Association, 2012

Louisiana Young Readers’ Choice Award (Nominee, Grades 6-8) ―State Library of Louisiana and Louisiana Center for the Book, 2013-2014

Maud Hart Lovelace Award (Nominee, Grades 3-5) ―Minnesota Youth Reading Awards, 2013-2014

Read More

Virginia Readers’ Choice (Master List) ―Virginia State Reading Association, 2013-2014

Young Adult Top Forty ―Pennsylvania School Librarians Association, 2012

Read Less

You May Also Like

Meet the Author

Fred Bowen is the author of Peachtree’s popular Fred Bowen Sports Story series. A lifelong sports fanatic, he has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post. Bowen lives in Maryland. You can visit his website here.