Project Description

Play off Dreams
BUY NOW
Excerpt
Discussion Guide

Playoff Dreams

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series

by Fred Bowen

Ready for some baseball? Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

“Long-suffering Cubs fans of all ages (especially kids) will identify with the plight of a young Chicago boy whose knothole team can’t seem to make the grade. Then the presence of a Wrigley Field legend and his sunny-side-up approach to baseball changes everything.” ―USA Today Baseball Weekly

As one of the best players in the league, Brendan wants nothing more than to see his team make it to the playoffs. But he just can’t seem to make them win!

After Brendan learns about legendary Cubs player and Hall of Famer Ernie Banks at a Chicago Cubs game, an unexpected event happens and Brendan begins to see his team in a new light. Could his playoff dreams really come true?

Playoff Dreams explores what’s most important to baseball fans and players alike: the love of the game. The afterword tells the real story about Ernie Banks and his career.

Format: Paperback
Price: $6.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-507-2
Publication Date: 8/1/2009
Page Count: 112
Size: 5-1/4″ x 7-1/2″
Age Range: 8 – 12
Language: English
Format: eBook
ISBN: 978-1-56145-507-2
Age Range: 8 – 12
Language: English

Purchase this eBook through the following vendors:

OpenRoad
Booksource
Follett
Mackin

AR Level: 4.2
F&P: GRL P, Gr 3, Genre RF
Lexile: 580L
Themes: Baseball, Sportsmanship, Teamwork
BISAC 1: JUV032010 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Baseball
BISAC 2: JUV005000 JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men
BISAC 3: JUV039220 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Values & Virtues

Reviews

“Long-suffering Cubs fans of all ages (especially kids) will identify with the plight of a young Chicago boy whose knothole team can’t seem to make the grade. Then the presence of a Wrigley Field legend and his sunny-side-up approach to baseball changes everything.” ―USA Today Baseball Weekly

“Bowen is quickly joining the ranks of today’s most popular sports-fiction authors…. he skillfully interweaves fact and fiction and uses historical sports plays and concepts as a backdrop for the story.” ―School Library Journal

“Bowen is a natural when it comes to writing sports stories and informing his readers about the past. These books are perfect for kids ages 8 to 12.” ―Newsday

Awards

Maryland Children’s Book Award (Nominee, Intermediate) ―State of Maryland International Reading Council, 2001

You May Also Like

Meet the Author

Fred Bowen is the author of Peachtree’s popular Fred Bowen Sports Story series. A lifelong sports fanatic, he has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post. Bowen lives in Maryland. You can visit his website here.