Project Description

BUY NOW
Excerpt
Teacher’s Guide

On the Line

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series

by Fred Bowen

Calling all basketball fans! Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

“Fast-paced court action, vivid game descriptions, and an upbeat ending…. Bowen scores again with a satisfying blend of historical sports commentary and fiction.” ―School Library Journal

Marcus is the high scorer and best rebounder on his basketball team, but he has one weakness: free throws. So when he misses four free throws at the end of an important game and his team loses, he turns to Mr. Dunn, the school custodian, who has just the trick to help Marcus get back on top: the “granny shot.”

Mr. Dunn shares with Marcus how former NBA star Rick Barry used this unorthodox way of shooting foul shots. Despite his success in practice, Marcus refuses to use the “granny shot” in an actual game. It looks ridiculous! But when he finds himself on the foul line again at a crucial time in an important game, will he be able to overcome his pride and score for his team?

Author Fred Bowen tells another fast-paced story about conquering weaknesses and vanity to become your best. In the afterword, readers can learn more about real-life NBA player Rick Barry and his infamous “granny shot.”

Format: Paperback
Price: $6.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-511-9
Publication Date: 10/1/2009
Page Count: 103
Size: 5-1/4″ x 7-1/2″
Age Range: 8 – 12
Language: English
Format: eBook
ISBN: 978-1-56145-715-1
Age Range: 8 – 12
Language: English

Purchase this eBook through the following vendors:

OpenRoad
Booksource
Follett
Mackin

AR Level: 4.3
F&P: GRL Q, Gr 4, Genre RF
Lexile: 550L
Themes: Basketball, Practice, Teamwork
BISAC 1: JUV032020 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Basketball
BISAC 2: JUV005000 JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men
BISAC 3: JUV044000 JUVENILE FICTION / Readers / Intermediate

Reviews

“Basketball fans will empathize with an eighth-grade star center’s struggle…. Marcus learns a valuable lesson about self-image and open-mindedness. Fast-paced court action, vivid game descriptions, and an upbeat ending will lure middle-school and reluctant readers…. Bowen scores again with a satisfying blend of historical sports commentary and fiction.” ―School Library Journal

You May Also Like

Meet the Author

Fred Bowen is the author of Peachtree’s popular Fred Bowen Sports Story series. A lifelong sports fanatic, he has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post. Bowen lives in Maryland. You can visit his website here.