Project Description

Lucky Enough
Buy Now
Excerpt
Discussion Guide
Author Q&A

Lucky Enough

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series

by Fred Bowen

Ready to head to the diamond for some baseball? Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

“A good read for youngsters who know and love the game.” ―Kirkus Reviews

Like many athletes, Trey is superstitious. How could he not be when he just made the Ravens travel team, thanks to his lucky charm—a piece of rare sea glass he found on his grandmother’s beach.

This stroke of good fortune reinforces his superstitious behavior, and the rituals become more and more important to him. In spite of some teasing and even some sarcasm from his teammates, Trey persists―he never steps on the foul line, he obsessively taps the corners of home plate when he’s at bat, he always chooses the same lucky bat. Why stop? After all, his tactics are working; he’s doing quite well on the field and in the batter’s box.

Then one day he can’t find his lucky sea glass. He searches everywhere, but it’s no use. Trey’s performance begins to slip, and he’s convinced that his future with the Ravens is doomed. Things don’t start to improve for Trey until his uncle reminds him of his grandmother’s favorite saying: “The harder you work, the luckier you get.”

Can Trey take those words to heart and find his swing again…even without his lucky charm?

Author Fred Bowen explores the age-old conflict between luck and hard work in this installment of his Sports Story Series. In the afterword, readers can learn more about famous players with their own lucky charms and superstitions.

Format: Hardcover
Price: $14.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-957-5
Publication Date: 3/1/2018
Page Count: 144
Size: 5-1/4″ x 7-1/2″
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English
Format: Paperback
Price: $6.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-958-2
Publication Date: 3/1/2018
Page Count: 144
Size: 5-1/4″ x 7-1/2″
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English
Format: eBook
ISBN: 978-1-68263-086-0
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English

Purchase this eBook through the following vendors:

OpenRoad
Booksource
Follett
Mackin

AR Level: 3.8
F&P: GRL Q, Gr 4, Genre RF
Lexile: 570L
Themes: Baseball, Family, Friendship, Self-Reliance, Superstition, Teamwork
BISAC 1: JUV032010 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Baseball & Softball
BISAC 2: JUV030060 JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / General
BISAC 3: JUV039140 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

Reviews

“Bowen employs nearly every bit of applicable baseball lingo, with detailed descriptions of practicing and playing the games… In a nice touch, there are fun facts about some famous major league players who had lucky rituals, hats, bats, and more…. A good read for youngsters who know and love the game.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“A former kids’ baseball coach and the writer of a Washington Post sports column for young readers, Bowen adds an entertaining note on baseball superstitions…. The straightforward story will appeal to young players as well as older ones intimidated by longer novels.” ―Booklist

“This quick and to-the-point story is a solid choice for upper elementary readers as well as middle school collections looking to boost their hi-lo offerings.” ―School Library Journal

Awards

Alabama Camellia Award (Nominee, Grades 4-5 Fiction) ―Alabama Department of Education, 2019-2020

Kansas State Reading Circle Recommended Reading List (Intermediate)―Kansas National Education Association, 2019

Massachusetts Children’s Book Award (Master List) ―Salem State College, 2019-2020

You May Also Like

Meet the Author

Fred Bowen is the author of Peachtree’s popular Fred Bowen Sports Story series. A lifelong sports fanatic, he has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post. Bowen lives in Maryland. You can visit his website here.