Project Description

Dugout Rivals Cover Art
BUY NOW
Excerpt
Discussion Guide

Dugout Rivals

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series

by Fred Bowen

Looking for baseball action? Check out this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

For Jake, there is only one thing he loves more than playing shortstop for his team, and that’s winning. So when newcomer Adam joins the team, Jake is excited to see that this guy can do it all—pitch, hit, field!

But as their team racks up win after win, Adam’s talents dominate every game and Jake can’t help but wonder: Do he or the other players even matter? Or will he learn that even the best players must rely on their teammates?

Author Fred Bowen’s book is an action-packed story of teamwork and friendship inspired by Babe Ruth and the 1927 Yankees, the group that many have called “The Greatest Team of All Time.”

Format: Paperback
Price: $6.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-515-7
Publication Date: 2/1/2010
Page Count: 128
Size: 5-1/4″ x 7-1/2″
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English
Format: eBook
ISBN: 978-1-56145-645-1
Age Range: 7 – 12
Language: English

Purchase this eBook through the following vendors:

OpenRoad
Booksource
Follett
Mackin

AR Level: 3.8
F&P: GRL Q, Gr 4, Genre RF
Lexile: 600L
Themes: Baseball, Cooperation, Rivalry
BISAC 1: JUV032010 JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Baseball
BISAC 2: JUV039060 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Friendship
BISAC 3: JUV039220 JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Values & Virtues

Reviews

“Bowen’s stories move along briskly with rapid-fire action sequences and end with surprising twists.” ―School Library Journal

“Perfect for reluctant readers, or those making the jump into chapter books…Young readers will devour these stories, along with their painless lessons, and still have time to join their friends for games.” ―SLJ Online, Curriculum Connections

Awards

Volunteer State Book Awards (Master List, Grades 3-5) ―Tennessee Association of School Librarians, 2012-2013

You May Also Like

Meet the Author

Fred Bowen is the author of Peachtree’s popular Fred Bowen Sports Story series. A lifelong sports fanatic, he has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post. Bowen lives in Maryland. You can visit his website here.