Project Description

Secret Science of Magic
Buy Now
Excerpt
Author Q&A

The Secret Science of Magic

by Melissa Keil

From award-winning author Melissa Keil comes this heartwarming tale of unconventional romance, perfect timing, and finding your own magic.

Meet Sophia: former child prodigy and 17-year-old math mastermind. She’s been having panic attacks since she learned that after high school, former prodigies either cure cancer or go crazy. It’s a lot of pressure. So Sophia doesn’t have the patience for games right now. She especially doesn’t have the patience to figure out why all these mysterious playing cards keep turning up inside her textbooks.

Meet Joshua: highly intelligent, cheerfully unambitious, and an amateur magician. He’s Sophia’s classmate, and he’s admired her for as long as he can remember. He thinks the time is perfect to tell Sophia how he feels. He doesn’t know how wrong he is.

This long-awaited follow-up from the author of Life in Outer Space is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan, and anyone who believes in making friends with the freaks.

Format: Hardcover
Price: $17.95
ISBN: 978-1-68263-014-3
Publication Date: 4/1/2018
Page Count: 352
Size: 5-1/4″ x 8″
Age Range: 12+
Language: English
Format: eBook
ISBN: 978-1-68263-087-7
Age Range: 12+
Language: English

Purchase this eBook through the following vendors:

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
BookShout
eBooks.com
Google
IndieBound
Kobo
Scribd

F&P: Z+, Gr. HS, Genre RF
Lexile: 850L
Themes: Family, Fitting In, Friendship, High School, Love
BISAC 1: YAF052020  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
BISAC 2: YAF037000  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Loners & Outcasts
BISAC 3: YAF058120  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship

Reviews

“The story intricately explores the teenagers’ quirky relationships and the notion of what it takes to feel comfortable in one’s own skin. Sophia’s character is authentically geeky, and readers will empathize with her anxiety.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“Neuroatypical characters, nerdiness, social anxiety, intelligence, and magic make this book stand out among other contemporary romances.” ―School Library Journal

“Readers struggling with social and personal interaction issues, awkwardness about fitting into their community, and uncertainty about where their future may take them will embrace this novel.” ―Booklist

“Excellent character development of the protagonists (Sophia and Elsie are ‘brown girls’ of South Asian descent; Joshua is white), their diverse group of friends, and their families (Elsie’s brothers, especially, are a hoot) makes the romantic relationship just one among several satisfying story strands, and witty dialogue keeps pages turning.” ―The Horn Book Magazine

Read More

“Charming and witty… Combining elements of science and magic in a spectacular way, this unconventional love story brings two atypical teens with very typical needs happily together.” ―Foreword Reviews

“This teen rom-com satisfies the sweet tooth for a sophisticated but youthful love story without getting too mushy.” ―The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Read Less

Awards

Parents’ Choice Silver Honor Award ―Parents’ Choice Foundation, 2018

You May Also Like

Meet the Author

Melissa Keil

Melissa Keil, born and raised in Melbourne, Australia, studied cinema and anthropology and has spent time as a high school teacher, Middle-Eastern tour guide, waitress, and IT help-desk person. She now works as a children’s book editor, and spends her free time watching YouTube and geek TV. You can visit her website here.