Project Description

Young Adult

Secret Science of Magic

Coming Spring 2018

The Secret Science of Magic

by Melissa Keil

From award-winning author Melissa Keil comes this heartwarming tale of unconventional romance, perfect timing, and finding your own magic.

Meet Sophia: former child prodigy and 17-year-old math mastermind.  She’s been having panic attacks since she learned that after high school, former prodigies either cure cancer or go crazy.  It’s a lot of pressure.  So Sophia doesn’t have the patience for games right now.  She especially doesn’t have the patience to figure out why all these mysterious playing cards keep turning up inside her textbooks.

Meet Joshua: highly intelligent, cheerfully unambitious, and an amateur magician.  He’s Sophia’s classmate, and he’s admired her for as long as he can remember.  He thinks the time is perfect to tell Sophia how he feels. He doesn’t know how wrong he is.

This long-awaited follow-up from the author of Life in Outer Space is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan, and anyone who believes in making friends with the freaks.

To pre-order this book, please contact sales at 1-800-241-0113 (404-876-8761) between 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.

Format: Hardcover
Price: $17.95
ISBN: 978-1-68263-014-3
Publication Date: 4/1/2018
Page Count: 352
Size: 5-1/4″ x 8″
Age Range: 12+
Language: English

F&P: Z+, Gr. HS, Genre RF
Lexile: 850L
Themes: Family, Fitting In, Friendship, High School, Love
BISAC 1: YAF052020  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
BISAC 2: YAF037000  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Loners & Outcasts
BISAC 3: YAF058120  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship

Reviews

“The story intricately explores the teenagers’ quirky relationships and the notion of what it takes to feel comfortable in one’s own skin. Sophia’s character is authentically geeky, and readers will empathize with her anxiety.” —Kirkus Reviews

You May Also Like

Meet the Author

Melissa Keil, born and raised in Melbourne, Australia, studied cinema and anthropology and has spent time as a high school teacher, Middle-Eastern tour guide, waitress, and IT help-desk person. She now works as a children’s book editor, and spends her free time watching YouTube and geek TV. You can visit her website here.