Project Description

BUY NOW

Old Tom, Man of Mystery

by Leigh Hobbs

Angela Throgmorton lives with her mangy cat, the troublesome but lovable Old Tom.

One morning, an overworked Angela decides that it’s time for Old Tom to help out a bit around the house. Ut Old Tom has other ideas. So while Angela is busy dusting and scrubbing, Old Tom gets busy too …changing into the Man of Mystery! Angela bakes some cakes and notices fur on her freshly scrubbed floor. Later she finds crumbs on the carpet that has just been swept. So when Angela is awakened by strange footsteps, she decides it is time to investigate. Soon she is off on her own adventure, shadowing the Man of Mystery!

Leigh Hobbs’s colorful, zany illustrations capture the humor and warmth of a special friendship between two memorable characters.

Format: Hardcover
Price: $16.95
ISBN: 978-1-56145-346-7
Publication Date: 7/1/2005
Page Count: 32
Size: 8-7/8″ x 10-7/8″
Age Range: 4 – 8
Language: English
AR Level: 2.5
F&P: GRL K, Gr 2, Genre F
Themes: Excuses, Pets, Relationships

Reviews

“The deadpan delivery and squiggly, almost drunken illustrations are back, and fans who loved the first will enjoy this.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“The text tells a simple story but the brightly colored cartoon illustrations provide laugh-out-loud humor. Fans of Harry Allard and Dav Pilkey should enjoy this title.” ―School Library Journal

“Overall, a great read for the whole family with an air of mystery perfect for this time of year. Old Tom will captivate you once again as he tries to prove the best things in life are free and should all belong to him with nary a toe lifted!” ―Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers

You May Also Like

Meet the Author/Illustrator

Leigh Hobbs is the author and illustrator of several children’s books, including the Old Tom books. He is also a painter, sculptor, and cartoonist. He is allergic to cats. Hobbs lives in Australia. You can visit his website here.